Continued: First time Trip to Taipei (2 of X)

This is a continued blog from previous blog: First time trip to Taipei (1 of X).

The two places(Bopiliao old street & Longshan Temple) we visited in downtown Taipei were really top on the lists of things to see but more of just getting those things off the list. Later we took subway to a small town that is not far from Taipei named “Dan shui”. Let’s start with a bit introduction of this Danshui old town: Zhongzheng street is one of the most famous and crowded old street in Taipei/Danshui. The street is consist of local cuisine and snacks, and old street architects from Late Qing dynasty or late 90’s. And when I say it is crowded, I wasn’t just saying, it was very crowded even people like me who very much used to crowd in Shanghai/China still felt it right away. There were so many different little food stands/shops that sells all kinds of interesting snacks or drinks that are considered specials of this town that I have never heard of. Without waiting, I rolled my sleeve and started to “dig” myself into this food paradise!!  First, let us see a pic of this Zhongzheng street: in the pic, it is Wayne Chen, the tango friend I mentioned in my previous post. I really liked this painting art wall in the street that contains all kinds of interesting paintings with different techniques. I spent some time there looking through those paintings in each square. Undoubtedly, this also makes it a very awesome picture taking background as you can see from below pic.

Hmm, now time to mention what I tried there in terms of food.(How can we writing blogs about Taipei but not mentioning food, right? : ) ) I think I tried fresh milk mochi(highly recommended, here is address of that store: 台北縣淡水鎮中正路133號. 麻吉奶奶鮮奶麻糬), some cakes(糕点)from a cake store that is letting people try all of their cakes (I bought a bag of some rice cakes mixed with plum in it home). I think I also tried some flavored plums, olive..etc, which I ended up buying a big package of flavored cheery for my parents. Can’t remember what else we had, you know after seeing all those local cuisine and snacks, it is really hard to remember what you had on a specific day. All you need know is make sure go through a diet program before you go to Taipei to have some room for weight growing. ; ). The third pic below is one type of mochi from that store that I mentioned. (It is not the fresh mile one though). 

After ate and shopped at the Zhongzheng road, we headed towards the river. It is to be said that Sunset at this danshui coast is extremely beautiful. Well, we didn’t specifically stopped for sunsetting but we were pretty much walking around near there around sunset time.  First, let me show you a pic of the coast: (I guess it is not really a coast pic but more of a port pic and it is not even that interesting. But at least I was the one who took the pic. We were actually sitting on the back deck of a coffee shop ordering cold coffee , and this is the view we had from where we sit. You can still see the water bottle in front of me)

The walk continued and it then took us to an old British embassy office which is a bit up on the hill and has beautiful view of the coast line. I guess it was very important strategic spot to have embassy there to know what is going on along the coast line at the time. Here is a pic of this embassy building:

After seeing the embassy buliding(which was free admission when we were there, they said they would start charge soon!). Later the walk took us to an University there, which has very british style of building. The campus is well design has big wall of fountains, pound for turtles and fishes, lawn for students to lie down and read or relax, small overpasses, with a lot of trees and flowers. We certainly enjoyed our walk inside this campus.

This was when we left campus and found this little path heading towards a church, seems a very scenic spot for picture taking as you probably can tell from below pic:

Leave a comment